Schlossgut Diel - Wines with history
The history of the Diel manor begins on September 11,1802, when Johann Peter Diel acquires the castle Layen and its surrounding lands, built in the 13th century. For generations, the family estate has been handed down to Jacob and Elfriede Diel, from 1961 to Ingo and Alice Diel until 1987, when Armin Diel and his daughter Caroline took over the management of the Rümmelsheim winery at the foot of the historic castle Layen.
The location of the manor house west of the Rhine is characterised by a particularly mild climate and little rain. In addition to the optimal microclimatic conditions, the diverse soils contribute to the individuality and quality of the wines of the Schlossgut Diel estate. However, the ability to understand the characteristics of such versatile soils and to cultivate vines in such a way that high-quality top-quality wines are produced from them must be learnt. Today's owner Caroline Diel acquired the experience not only from her ancestors, but also through numerous internships and work stations around the world. After graduating from high school in California, Caroline was able to collect international wine knowledge and cultural impressions in Austria, South Africa, New Zealand and during her work for Robert Weil, among others. Back in her native Burg Layen, she now brings the wealth of experience she has acquired to bear in her work as a winemaker.
In addition to Rieslingen and Burgundy wines, sparkling wines and distillates are produced in the Diel Winery, which is one of the most renowned wine-growing estates in the Nahe region.
More information about Schlossgut Diel
|Company Name:||Schlossgut Diel KG|
|Street:||Burg Layen 16|
|Contact & Web|
|Telephone:||+49 6721 96950|
|Year of Incorporation:||1802|
|Company Owner:||Diel family|
|Managing Director:||Armin und Caroline Diel|
|Vineyard Area:||25 ha|