James Sedgwick Distillery

James Sedgwick Distillery

Cape Whisky since 1886

The story begins back in 1850 with the pioneering spirit of Captain James Sedgwick, who sailed to the Cape with the clipper Undine and founded the company J. Sedgwick & Co. there. As early as 1886, the company established a distillery, which thus became the oldest on the African continent, the James Sedwick Distillery. Since then, it has been setting standards for whisky production in the Cape. In 2015, The James Sedgwick Distillery was named Best International Whisky Distillery of the Year at the New York International Spiritis Competition.

The distillery is located in Wellington, one of South Africa's most picturesque regions, on the Bainskloof Pass, which serves as a link to the interior. The complex, with its buildings and characteristic tower, was chosen by the Wellington Tourist Office in 2000 as the region's most attractive industrial complex. 130 years after its foundation, the distillery is now open to visitors.

James Sedgwick Distillery is a pioneer in whisky. It is indeed unusual for a distillery to produce both malt and grain whisky in the same place. The distillery is able to handle the whole process of whisky production, from grinding the raw materials, to ripening and blending. A total of 150,000 barrels of whisky are ready for ripening at any time.

Master Distiller Andy Watts - all about passion

Master Distiller is Andy Watts, master of his subject and has already won several awards. Since the foundation of Distillery he is only the 6th manager in the THe James Sedgwick Distillery. His passion, knowledge and curiosity continue to set standards for South African whiskys and the whisky industry's innovations.

"We have made an enormous upgrade and expansion of the distillery, but despite all the technology, we have managed to maintain the human touch. We have the best of both worlds!"

No results were found for the filter!

More information about James Sedgwick Distillery

Address
Company Name:James Sedgwick Distillery
Street:79 Stokery Rd
City:7654 Wellington Westkap
Country:Südafrika
Region:Westkap
Continent:Afrika
Contact & Internet
Website:http://www.bains.co.za/
E-mail: info@bainscapemountainwhisky.co.za
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/BainsCapeMountainWhisky
Twitter:https://twitter.com/BainsWhisky
Telephone:+27 72 415 3440
Localisation
James Sedgwick Distillery
Company
Year of Incorporation:1886
Company Group:Distell Group Limited
Managing Director:Andy Watts
Wine
Cultivated Area:Cape Mountain
Top

James Sedgwick Distillery

James Sedgwick Distillery

James_Sedgwick_Distillery_ZA

Whisky vom Kap seit 1886

Die Geschichte beginnt bereits 1850 mit dem Pioniergeist von Captain James Sedgwick, der mit dem Clipper Undine zum Cape segelte und dort die Firma J.Sedgwick & Co. gründete. Bereits 1886 errichtete die Gesellschaft eine Distillery, die damit die älteste auf dem Afrikanischen Kontinent wurde, die James Sedwick Distillery. Seitdem werden hier  Maßstäbe für die Whisky-Produktion am Kap gesetzt. Im Jahr 2015 wurde die The James Sedgwick Distillery auf der New York International Spiritis Competition zur Besten Internationalen Whisky Distillery des Jahres gekührt. 

Die Distillerie befindet sich einer der malerischsten Regionen Südafrika, in Wellington, am Bainskloof Pass, der als Verbindung zum Innenland dient. die Anlage, mit ihren Bauten und dem charakteristischen Turm wurde vom Tourismusbüro Wellington im Jahr 2000 als attraktivste Industrieanlage der Region gekürt. 130 Jahre nach ihrer Gründung steht die Distillerie mittlerweile auch für Besucher offen.

Die James Sedgwick Distillery kann als Pionier in Sachen Whisky bezeichnet werden. Es ist in der Tat unüblich für eine Distillerie sowohl Malz- als auch Grain-Whisky am selben Ort zu produzieren. Die Distillerie ist in der Lage den ganzen Prozess der Whisky-Herstellung abzuwickeln, vom Mahlen der Rohstoffe, zur Reifung und zum Blending. Insgesamt stehen 150 000 Whiskyfässer zu jeder Zeit zur Reifung bereit.

Master Distiller Andy Watts - Perfektion und Leidenschaft

Master Distiller ist Andy Watts, Meister seines Fachs und mehrfach schon ausgezeichnet. Er ist seit der Gründung der Distillery erst der 6. Manager in der The James Sedgwick Distillery. Seine Leidenschaft, Kenntnisse und Neugier setzen weiterhin Maßstäbe für die Südafrikanische Whiskys und die Innovationen der Whisky-Industrie.

"Wir haben eine enorme Steigerung und Ausbau der Distillerie vorgenommen, aber trotz aller Technologie, haben wir es geschafft, den menschliche Touch zu bewahren. Wir haben das Beste von beiden Welten!"

Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!

Weitere Informationen zu James Sedgwick Distillery

Anschrift
Firmenname:James Sedgwick Distillery
Straße:79 Stokery Rd
Ort:7654 Wellington Westkap
Land:Südafrika
Region:Westkap
Kontinent:Afrika
Kontakt & Web
Website:http://www.bains.co.za/
E-Mail: info@bainscapemountainwhisky.co.za
Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/BainsCapeMountainWhisky
Twitter:https://twitter.com/BainsWhisky
Telefon:+27 72 415 3440
Lokalisierung
James Sedgwick Distillery
Unternehmen
Gründungsjahr:1886
Firmengruppe:Distell Group Limited
Geschäftsführer:Andy Watts
Wein
Bebaute Regionen:Cape Mountain
Top